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March 2, 2023 

Dear Community-Based Adult Services (CBAS) Providers,  

The State of California implemented the California Electronic Visit Verification (CalEVV) system for 
Personal Care Services (PCS) on January 1, 2022, and Home Health Care Services (HHCS) on 
January 1, 2023, in accordance with the federally mandated requirements of the 21st Century 
Cures Act.  

The CalAIM 1115 Waiver requires the state to demonstrate compliance with the Electronic Visit 
Verification System (EVV) requirements for the provision of in-home PCS and HHCS to CBAS 
beneficiaries utilizing the CBAS Emergency Remote Services (ERS) benefit. 
  
Effective March 23, 2023, the CalEVV system will begin supporting the California Department of 
Aging (CDA) CBAS and CBAS providers to ensure compliance with CBAS ERS EVV requirements.  

CBAS Services Subject to EVV 

For CBAS providers, the following CBAS ERS benefits provided in the home are subject to EVV 
requirements: 

• Professional nursing services (HHCS) 
 

• Personal care services - Activities of Daily Living and Instrumental Activities of Daily Living 
(PCS) 

 
• Therapeutic Activities – Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Maintenance Program 

(PCS) 
 

• Meal - If prepared in the home (PCS) 
 

• Restorative physical therapy (HHCS) 
 

• Restorative occupational therapy (HHCS) 
 

• Speech therapy (HHCS) 

When these services are provided, CBAS centers are required to submit the following HCPCS 
procedure codes on their claim. (For more details see the Medi-Cal Provider Manual at Community-
Based Adult Services (CBAS): Billing Codes and Reimbursement Rates (community cd) (ca.gov): 

• S5136 - CBAS-ERS PCS in the home; per diem 
• Q5001 - CBAS-ERS HHCS in the home; per diem 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Furldefense.com%2Fv3%2F__https%3A%2Ffiles.medi-cal.ca.gov%2Fpubsdoco%2Fpublications%2Fmasters-mtp%2Fpart2%2Fcommunitycd.pdf__%3B!!EuW5fDSpzeg!bUBVwLW90zTLy9nSHABJWTzVLJgyiiB6IQ1Csy1bXYyDS1Vh4e0B5rH7DSpdzKmUTcpMZ85rdSj0BlxDfARGbwYhZc9vPj4FOOvP4FTYVco%24&data=05%7C01%7Cjennifer.jaeger%40aging.ca.gov%7C700377d13de64d3dd28808db106f8f76%7Ccc1525417fca4553885c4c3ac7328bb6%7C0%7C0%7C638121843593349543%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=hHAQMDjYMLN8QbEN430386sNohII5UBysA0sorSmc%2F8%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Furldefense.com%2Fv3%2F__https%3A%2Ffiles.medi-cal.ca.gov%2Fpubsdoco%2Fpublications%2Fmasters-mtp%2Fpart2%2Fcommunitycd.pdf__%3B!!EuW5fDSpzeg!bUBVwLW90zTLy9nSHABJWTzVLJgyiiB6IQ1Csy1bXYyDS1Vh4e0B5rH7DSpdzKmUTcpMZ85rdSj0BlxDfARGbwYhZc9vPj4FOOvP4FTYVco%24&data=05%7C01%7Cjennifer.jaeger%40aging.ca.gov%7C700377d13de64d3dd28808db106f8f76%7Ccc1525417fca4553885c4c3ac7328bb6%7C0%7C0%7C638121843593349543%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=hHAQMDjYMLN8QbEN430386sNohII5UBysA0sorSmc%2F8%3D&reserved=0


 

2 
 

The Cures Act and Data Collection 

The Cures Act was enacted in 2016 and directs states to require the use of an EVV system for 
Medicaid-provided PCS and HHCS.  The Cures Act requires that EVV systems electronically capture 
six data elements for every PCS or HHCS service that is provided in the home:  

1. Type of service performed 
2. Individual receiving the service 
3. Date of the service 
4. Location of service delivery 
5. Individual providing the service 
6. Time the service begins and ends 

All services provided in the home that are identified as PCS or HHCS must have an EVV visit record in 
the CalEVV system or in a chosen Alternate EVV vendor system.  The new EVV requirements will not 
change where and how these services are delivered.  

CBAS Providers  

CBAS providers are expected to be registered in CalEVV and begin submitting visit data 
electronically, either through the state-provided CalEVV system or a chosen Alternate EVV system 
starting March 23, 2023.  

The state-provided CalEVV system is free to providers and is used to electronically capture the six 
EVV data elements mentioned above via a mobile app or telephone. Providers that have an 
existing electronic medical records or care management information system that provides EVV 
functionality may use that system as long as it meets EVV requirements, and their software vendor 
can integrate their system with the state's EVV aggregator and send compliant EVV data to the 
state.  

If you have not yet registered in the CalEVV system, you will need to register and choose either the 
CalEVV state-provided system (free) or an alternate EVV vendor system. See the Provider Self-
Registration instructions below. 

If you have already registered or register prior to the go live date for CBAS in CalEVV, you will need 
to subsequently add the CBAS Provider ID and jurisdictional associations in Provider ID Maintenance 
in the CalEVV portal or aggregator. 

Managed Care Plans 

Managed Care Plans who are the payers for CBAS are required to ensure their contracted providers 
comply with EVV requirements. This includes ensuring all providers register for CalEVV and begin 
submitting visit data electronically, either through the state-provided CalEVV system (free)or a 
chosen Alternate EVV system starting March 23, 2023. Managed Care Plans can monitor provider 
compliance using the state-provided CalEVV aggregator and/or business intelligence tool. 
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Stakeholder/Informational Webinar 

To better prepare CBAS providers and Managed Care Plans for this upcoming EVV implementation, 
CDA and the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS), in collaboration with Sandata 
Technologies, will be providing a live Onboarding and Self-Registration demonstration during an 
informational webinar on March 9, 2023 from 2:00pm – 3:30pm. Please click below link to register to 
join the webinar: 
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/87419913768?pwd=TnJGdWE3WW1hSzYzMk1VZ202eGNnQT09. 

Provider Self-Registration 

CBAS providers, on March 23, 2023, please click the following link to register for CalEVV. For 
additional guidance on registration, please click the following links:  

• Step by step Quick Reference Guide (QRG) on how to register in CalEVV.  
• Step by step instructional video on how to register in CalEVV. 
• DHCS hosted and recorded a live demonstration on the self-registration process, provider 

agency training, and provider ID maintenance. 
 

CalEVV State Provided System Users  

If intending to use the CalEVV state-provided EVV system (free), complete self-registration using the 
link above and complete the required CalEVV Administrator Training.  

• Instructions will be emailed upon completing self-registration which explain how to register for 
and complete the required administrator training. This training takes approximately 1 hour.  

• Upon completion of training, you will receive your CalEVV credentials and a link to the 
CalEVV portal. 

• Once you log into the CalEVV portal, you will need to add CBAS participants, employees, 
and services prior to recording visits. You can also update your provider IDs via the portal to 
associate your services with all applicable payers (e.g., Managed Care Plans and DHCS for 
Fee-For-Service participants). 

• At this time, you will also provide training to your office staff and staff providing ERS PCS and 
HHCS in the home, using the webinars and recorded videos that you can access from the 
Sandata On-Demand training website. You’ll need to log into the On-Demand website using 
your CalEVV credentials to access all applicable training. 
 

Alternate EVV System Users 

If intending to use an Alternate EVV vendor system, you still need to complete self-registration using 
the link above and complete the required AltEVV Administrator Training. 

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/87419913768?pwd=TnJGdWE3WW1hSzYzMk1VZ202eGNnQT09
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Furldefense.com%2Fv3%2F__https%3A%2Fgcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com%2F%3Furl%3Dhttps*3A*2F*2Fvendorregistration.calevv.com*2F%26data%3D05*7C01*7CSam.Chiecchi*40osi.ca.gov*7Ccbbfb3b133314665046f08da8aa2e20d*7C391e1a40f6364496914916f7268f864a*7C0*7C0*7C637974730051647757*7CUnknown*7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0*3D*7C3000*7C*7C*7C%26sdata%3D6*2BpVo0tLK1RqUgUMn7dARHjs4qutPOYiNKBg8D0up2U*3D%26reserved%3D0__%3BJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUlJSUl!!EuW5fDSpzeg!ebOoV_HwFyvnG1mMEvAjQbSb84YzbO8OM-DYd6X6RMwPa1Jo7Tir_HOgSpmddtwzjcUBREMLfNp1SKLlgjHkMGCr0-estlM%24&data=05%7C01%7CSam.Chiecchi%40osi.ca.gov%7Cafff345aa0624470de2e08dadfc77d73%7C391e1a40f6364496914916f7268f864a%7C0%7C0%7C638068345288049194%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=iEc4Zsiuo82aS5LqbuOmMTQ9flSu7%2BxHmZnaa9x4FbQ%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.dhcs.ca.gov%2Fprovgovpart%2FDocuments%2FCalEVV-Provider-Self-Registration-QRG.pdf&data=05%7C01%7CSam.Chiecchi%40osi.ca.gov%7Cafff345aa0624470de2e08dadfc77d73%7C391e1a40f6364496914916f7268f864a%7C0%7C0%7C638068345288049194%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=nMkQPTYoK9uowz%2Bf13ogQ2SuQq8twVBNuebhHuCc%2Bdw%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Furldefense.com%2Fv3%2F__https%3A%2Fsandata.zendesk.com%2Fhc%2Fen-us%2Farticles%2F8614759432211--CalEVV-New-Provider-Self-Registration-and-Onboarding-Video__%3B!!EuW5fDSpzeg!ebOoV_HwFyvnG1mMEvAjQbSb84YzbO8OM-DYd6X6RMwPa1Jo7Tir_HOgSpmddtwzjcUBREMLfNp1SKLlgjHkMGCruwdRSiQ%24&data=05%7C01%7CSam.Chiecchi%40osi.ca.gov%7Cafff345aa0624470de2e08dadfc77d73%7C391e1a40f6364496914916f7268f864a%7C0%7C0%7C638068345288049194%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=niVI%2F7Yc6idnLV0uwlOMFJtzK6G2jI6eXcbOZw4EhgI%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2F0zOvcdEyiLIan&data=05%7C01%7CSam.Chiecchi%40osi.ca.gov%7Cafff345aa0624470de2e08dadfc77d73%7C391e1a40f6364496914916f7268f864a%7C0%7C0%7C638068345288049194%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=14IWERTg%2FTzGjL3CvxPot3aCGFTqbP%2FQh8Hb6Y6%2B8B8%3D&reserved=0
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• Be sure to clearly identify that you will be using an alternate EVV Vendor and software 
product when you self-register with CalEVV. 

• Reach out to your alternate EVV software vendor and follow up as needed to ensure your 
vendor successfully completes testing with Sandata Technologies and becomes certified to 
send EVV data to the CalEVV aggregator. 

• Complete the AltEVV aggregator administrator training using the link you will receive from 
the California Alternate EVV customer support team. 

• For more information about the California Alternate EVV technical specifications and 
Alternate EVV certification process, click on this link or email Alternate EVV customer support 
at CAAltEVV@sandata.com. 

Services Excluded from EVV Requirements 

The following services are not subject to EVV requirements: 

• HHCS or PCS that do not require an in-home visit. 
• HHCS or PCS provided in congregate residential settings where 24-hour service is available. 
• HHCS or PCS rendered by live-in caregiver1. 
• Any services rendered through the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly. 
• HHCS or PCS provided to inpatients or residents of a hospital or nursing facility, including 

skilled nursing facility or residence of nursing facility, intermediate care facility for individuals 
with intellectual disabilities, or an institution for mental diseases. 

CalEVV Service Listing  

 

Contacts and Resources 

For general questions about the CalEVV program, please visit California Department EVV websites:   

• DHCS EVV   
 

For technical assistance to access training, please contact 1-855-943-6070 or 
CACustomerCare@sandata.com.  

For additional questions, please email EVV@dhcs.ca.gov or EVV@dds.ca.gov.   

 
1 A "Live-in Caregiver" is a caregiver who regularly remains in the recipient's home for more than 24 hours at a time and 
provides any of the authorized personal care services and home health care services. If a caregiver provides services to 
other recipients with whom they do not live, per the definition above, would need to register for EVV. 

 

https://sandata.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/sections/4409817882387-California-CalEVV-
mailto:CAAltEVV@sandata.com
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/EVV.aspx
mailto:CACustomerCare@sandata.com
mailto:EVV@dhcs.ca.gov
mailto:EVV@dds.ca.gov
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